MBF_1907

Last week after many years of cooking and laughing together my ex cooking partner Sindy gave me a gift.

Over the years there have been many gifts passed between us, lots of them relevant to that moment and none more so than this one.

Provence by Luke Barr an affectionate recollection of  the time his great-aunt MFK Forest spent in Provence in 1970.

In the late Autumn and winter of that year  she spent time with Julia Child and her husband Paul along with Simone Beck. They had just published the second volume of  the most influential cook book that I and any one else that really wanted to cook in that period regarded as our bible, Mastering the Art of French Cooking.

She met and ate with Richard Olney also a Provence resident at that time along with James Beard and many others who were changing the face of how the world approached French food .

They planned meals for each other in a number of locations which highlighted their particular passion for the food of the area. Celebrating the seasonal ingredients and their rustic preparation.

I savored every page because I am on a similar journey.

Having cooked my way around the world for the past 10 years I have jumped ship and landed in the most beautiful place on earth.

Today as I type this first page of my new blog from my window is the view posted above and from the potager which is hiding from you in this particular photo I have picked baskets of broad beans, spinach, beetroot, courgettes, radishes, green beans, lettuce , strawberries and more.

What a harvest. And this is my new life which I plan to share with you.

Instead of the killer whales passing my window and the extraordinary tribesmen baring all I have the fascination of the seasons which here in Provence mutate weekly changing colors and temperatures as available produce as they go.

The seasons here are exhilarating and challenging.

Heat, wind , dryness and the dreaded gel are all waiting to trip you up but totally compensated for by  the bright leaves of the cherry orchards in  Autumn, the crisp sunny days in Winter when you can eat your lunch outside in the sun and then the abundance of spring and early summer.

Leave a Reply

